Thanks to William Allen Law for posting this….

Our hunger to belong is the longing to find a bridge across the distance from isolation to intimacy.

John O’Donohue

Eternal Echoes: Celtic Reflections on Our Yearning to Belong

This election is about people yearning to belong and feel they matter – on the left, the right and in the middle. Sadly, even though “God” is thrown around a great deal, as if it is an organization one can belong to, it is not .

In my life, my work and my calling I have found belonging to God is a hard thing because you are asked to do the hard thing – to love souls you would ordinarily despise, and love them till the fear and spite has burned out. Then comes a moment when you belong to something so large that all of life is equally love.

I know how hard this belonging is, I personally have spent a great deal of time running from it, even while answering it. I have complained worse than Jonah.

I have noticed many talk about this journey to belonging, fewer really start and very few stay the course – but it is the course we are all asked to run – we do not get to define it – we simply move toward it. If at the end you do not find love for all – then you need to keep moving till you do.

William Allen Law's photo.
