My Photographic Journey To Pursue My Own American Dream

My name is Jakub Polomski and I am a professional Polish photographer specializing in landscape and travel photography. Here’s my story and I hope it inspires you.

2005 was a difficult year for me. I graduated from school and I didn’t have any idea what to do in my life. I saw some pictures on National Geographic magazine that inspired me to get involved into photography. I borrowed a camera from a friend and began photographing landscapes around my hometown Cieszyn. I was reading about photography and learning everything by myself. As a beginner, I believed 80% of my photos were good, so I decided to publish them on the Internet. Although they were not good and I got a lot of negative comments, the critique I received gave me loads of motivation. I wanted to prove myself and others that I could do better.

My day job was a graphic designer and during my free time I practiced photography. In 2007, I applied my images for a photo contest and I won the 3rd prize. Since then I’ve been awarded with many prizes and commendations in national and international photography contests. The most valuable prize for me was National Geographic Poland first place award in ‘Polish Landscape’ in 2010. The award was a 7-days journey to Patagonia (Argentina). It was the first time I had a chance to appear in such an exotic location. When I came back from Argentina I started building my portfolio. I became popular on Behance. This is how I’m reaching for my own American Dream.

More info: jakubpolomski.com

2007 Poland

2007 Slovakia

2008 Slovakia

2008 Switzerland

2008 Austria

2008 Switzerland

2008 Switzerland

2009 Austria

2009 Austria

2009 Austria

2011 Italy

2011 Austria

2011 Italy

2011 Argentina

2011 Argentina

2011 Argentina

2012 Slovakia

2012 France

2012 France

2012 France

2012 Switzerland

2012 Switzerland

2013 Norway

2013 Norway

2013 Norway

2013 Slovakia

2013 Czech Republic

2014 Argentina

2014 Argentina

2014 Chile

2014 Chile

2014 Chile

2014 France

monthly archives

archives

Joan of Arc

I know this now. Every man gives his life for what he believes. Every woman gives her life for what she believes. Sometimes people believe in little or nothing yet they give their lives to that little or nothing. One life is all we have and we live it as we believe in living it. And then it is gone. But to sacrifice what you are and live without belief, that's more terrible than dying.--

  • 344,341

say hello

If you drop by my site, I'd love to know what brought you here and a bit about where you are from and how you feel about your visit. Take a minute and say hello!

FAIR USE NOTICE

This blog may contain copyrighted material. Such material is made available for educational purposes, to advance understanding of human rights, democracy, scientific, moral, ethical, and social justice issues, etc. This constitutes a ‘fair use’ of any such copyrighted material as provided for in Title 17 U.S.C. section 107 of the US Copyright Law. This material is distributed without profit.
November 2015
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Pages

Beannacht

On the day when
the weight deadens
on your shoulders
and you stumble,
may the clay dance
to balance you.

And when your eyes
freeze behind
the grey window
and the ghost of loss
gets in to you,
may a flock of colours,
indigo, red, green,
and azure blue
come to awaken in you
a meadow of delight.

When the canvas frays
in the currach of thought
and a stain of ocean
blackens beneath you,
may there come across the waters
a path of yellow moonlight
to bring you safely home.

May the nourishment of the earth be yours,
may the clarity of light be yours,
may the fluency of the ocean be yours,
may the protection of the ancestors be yours.
And so may a slow
wind work these words
of love around you,
an invisible cloak
to mind your life.

John O'Donohue, Echoes of Memory

Leave a Reply

