north wind scotland hogwarts mtn kristal schneider

Farewell, Farewell
Written by Richard Thompson

 

north wind scotlanda

Farewell, farewell to you who’d hear
You lonely travelers all
The cold north wind will blow again
The winding road does call

north wind scotland hogwarts express kristal schneider

And will you never return to see
Your bruised and beaten sons
Oh I would, I would if welcome I were
For they loathe me every one

And will you never cut the cloth
Or drink the light to be
And can you never swear a year
To anyone but we

north wind scotland glinfinnan viaduct distant view kristal schneider

No I will never cut the cloth
Or drink the light to be
But I’ll swear a year to one (he) who lies
Asleep along side of me

Farewell, farewell to you who would hear
You lonely travelers all
The cold north wind will blow again
The winding road does call

north wind scotland jacobite stream  kristal schneider

From RT’s BeesWeb site in Nov 2007:

“Much as I love this song (Farewell Farewell), I cannot grasp the meaning of part of it:

And will you never cut the cloth, Or drink the light to be, And can you never swear a year, To anyone of/but? we?

What does this mean, what does it refer to? I would be much obliged if you could tell me. kind regards, Wies Morcus

I really don’t know what it means. This song came out of a dream, and I pretty much wrote it as I dreamt it (it was the sixties), and didn’t spend very long analyzing it. So interpret as you wish – or replace with your own lines.”

 

