“Streets Of Philadelphia”

I was bruised and battered, I couldn’t tell what I felt.
I was unrecognizable to myself.
I saw my reflection in a window, I didn’t know my own face.
Oh brother are you gonna leave me wastin’ away
On the Streets of Philadelphia.

I walked the avenue, ’til my legs felt like stone,
I heard the voices of friends vanished and gone,
At night I could hear the blood in my veins,
Black and whispering as the rain,
On the Streets of Philadelphia.

Ain’t no angel gonna greet me.
It’s just you and I my friend.
My clothes don’t fit me no more,
I walked a thousand miles
Just to slip this skin.

The night has fallen, I’m lyin’ awake,
I can feel myself fading away,
So receive me brother with your faithless kiss,
Or will we leave each other alone like this
On the Streets of Philadelphia

“The Rising”

Can’t see nothin’ in front of me
Can’t see nothin’ coming up behind
I make my way through this darkness
I can’t feel nothing but this chain that binds me
Lost track of how far I’ve gone
How far I’ve gone, how high I’ve climbed
On my back’s a sixty pound stone
On my shoulder a half mile line

Come on up for the rising
Com on up, lay your hands in mine
Come on up for the rising
Come on up for the rising tonight

Left the house this morning
Bells ringing filled the air
Wearin’ the cross of my calling
On wheels of fire I come rollin’ down here

Come on up for the rising
Come on up, lay your hands in mine
Come on up for the rising
Come on up for the rising tonight

Li,li, li,li,li,li, li,li,li

Spirits above and behind me
Faces gone, black eyes burnin’ bright
May their precious blood forever bind me
Lord as I stand before your fiery light

Li,li, li,li,li,li, li,li,li

I see you Mary in the garden
In the garden of a thousand sighs
There’s holy pictures of our children
Dancin’ in a sky filled with light
May I feel your arms around me
May I feel your blood mix with mine
A dream of life comes to me
Like a catfish dancin’ on the end of the line

Sky of blackness and sorrow (a dream of life)
Sky of love, sky of tears (a dream of life)
Sky of glory and sadness (a dream of life)
Sky of mercy, sky of fear (a dream of life)
Sky of memory and shadow (a dream of life)
Your burnin’ wind fills my arms tonight
Sky of longing and emptiness (a dream of life)
Sky of fullness, sky of blessed life (a dream of life)

Come on up for the rising
Come on up, lay your hands in mine
Come on up for the rising
Come on up for the rising tonight

Li,li, li,li,li,li, li,li,li

“How Can I Keep From Singing?”

My life goes on in endless song
Above earth’s lamentation
I hear the real, though far off hymn
That hails the new creation

What though the tempest loudly roars
I hear the truth, it liveth
What though the darkness round me close
Songs in the night, it giveth

When tyrants tremble, sick with fear
And hear their death-knell ringing
When friends rejoice both far and near
How can I keep from singing?

No storm can shake my inmost calm
While to that rock I’m clinging
Since love is Lord in Heaven and Earth
How can I keep from singing?

“(Your Love Keeps Lifting Me) Higher And Higher”

Your love keeps lifting me higher
Than I ever been lifted before
So give me love
Which is my desire, honey
I’m gonna be at your side
Forever more

Now, you know your love
Keeps lifting me higher
Than I ever been lifted before
So give me love, oh
Which is my desire
I’m gonna be at your side
Forever more

Now, once down and broken hearted
And dissapointment was my closest friend
And than you, you came and heated parted
And you know he never showed his face again

Now, you know your love
Keeps lifting me higher
Than I ever been lifted before
So give me love, oh
Which is my desire
I’m gonna be at your side
Forever more, hey, hey, hey

Know your love
Lifting me higher
Than I ever been lifted before
So give me love
Which is my desire, ha
I’m gonna be at your side
Forever more

Now, you know your love
Keeps lifting me higher
Than I ever been lifted before
So give me love, oh
Which is my desire, oh, honey
I’m gonna be at your side
Forever more

Oh I got to tell you ’bout it
Keep me, lift me all up, lift me
Lift me little higher, now
Keep me going all up
I wanna higher, higher, higher, higher
Get me up there
I gotta get on up there
Lift me, lift me, lift me, oh lift me
Up, up, up, up, up, up
Gotta get on up
Gotta, gotta, get on up there…

 

“The River”  with the E Street Band and Scialfa

I come from down in the valley
where mister when you’re young
They bring you up to do like your daddy done
Me and Mary we met in high school
when she was just seventeen
We’d ride out of this valley down to where the fields were greenWe’d go down to the river
And into the river we’d dive
Oh down to the river we’d ride

Then I got Mary pregnant
and man that was all she wrote
And for my nineteenth birthday I got a union card and a wedding coat
We went down to the courthouse
and the judge put it all to rest
No wedding day smiles no walk down the aisle
No flowers no wedding dress

That night we went down to the river
And into the river we’d dive
Oh down to the river we did ride

I got a job working construction for the Johnstown Company
But lately there ain’t been much work on account of the economy
Now all them things that seemed so important
Well mister they vanished right into the air
Now I just act like I don’t remember
Mary acts like she don’t care

But I remember us riding in my brother’s car
Her body tan and wet down at the reservoir
At night on them banks I’d lie awake
And pull her close just to feel each breath she’d take
Now those memories come back to haunt me
they haunt me like a curse
Is a dream a lie if it don’t come true
Or is it something worse
that sends me down to the river
though I know the river is dry
That sends me down to the river tonight
Down to the river
my baby and I
Oh down to the river we ride

“Kitty’s Back”

Catlong sighs, holdin’ Kitty’s black tooth
She left to marry some top cat, ain’t it the cold truth?
And there hasn’t been a tally since Sally left the alley
Since Sally left with Big Pretty, things have got pretty thin
It’s tight on this fence since them young dudes are musclin’ in

Jack Knife cries ’cause Baby’s in a bundle
She goes runnin’ nightly, lightly through the jungle
And them tin cans are explodin’ out of the 90-degree heat
Cat somehow lost his baby down on Bleecker Street
It’s sad but it sure is true
Cat shrugs his shoulders, sits back and sighs

Catlong lies back-bent on a trash can
Flashin’ lights that cut the night, dude in the white says he’s the man
Well, you better move fast when you’re young, or you’re not around
Cat somehow lost his Kitty in the city pound
So get right, get tight, get down
Who’s that down at the end of the alley? She’s been gone so long
Here she comes, here she comes
Here she comes, here she comes

Kitty’s back in town, here she comes now
Kitty’s back in town
Cat knows Kitty’s been untrue and that she left him for a city dude
Well, she’s so soft, she’s so blue
When he looks into her eyes, he just sits back and sighs
Ooh, what can I do, ooh, what can I do?
Ooh, what can I do, ooh, what can I do? Alright
Ooh alright, ooh alright
Ooh alright, ooh alright

bruce springsteen

From Wikipedia:

Bruce Springsteen draws on many musical influences from the reservoir
of traditional American popular music, folk, blues and country. From the
beginning, rock and roll has been a dominant influence and Springsteen’s
musical and lyrical evocations, as well as public tributes, of artists such as
Dylan, Presley, Roy Orbison, Gary “U.S.” Bonds, and many others helped
to rekindle interest in their music. Springsteen’s other preferred musical
style is American folk, evident on his debut album, Greetings from Asbury
Park, New Jersey, and more strongly on Nebraska and The Ghost of Tom
Joad. Springsteen songs such as “This Hard Land” demonstrate the lyrical
and musical influence of Woody Guthrie.

Subsequently in his career, Springsteen focused more on the rock elements
of his music. He initially compressed the sound and developed Darkness on
the Edge of Town just as straightforward as concise musical idiom, for the
simple riffs, rock guitar solos and clearly recognizable song structures are
dominant. His music has been categorized as heartland rock, a style typified
by Springsteen, John Fogerty, Tom Petty, Bob Seger, and John Mellencamp.

This music has a lyrical reference to the U.S. everyday and the music is kept
rather simple and straightforward.

In recent years, Springsteen has changed his music further. There are more
folk elements up to the gospel to be heard. His last solo album, Devils and
Dust, drew rave reviews not only for Springsteen’s complex songwriting, but
also for his expressive and sensitive singing. On the album We Shall
Overcome: The Seeger Sessions Springsteen performed folk classics with a
folk band, rather than his usual E Street Band. On his ensuing tour he also
interpreted some of his own rock songs in a folk style.

Early in 1984 Springsteen asked Scialfa to join the E Street Band for the
upcoming Born in the U.S.A. Tour. According to the book Bruce Springsteen
on Tour 1969–2005 by Dave Marsh, it looked like Springsteen and Scialfa
were on the brink of becoming a couple through the first leg of the tour.
But before that could happen, Barry Bell introduced Julianne Phillips to
Springsteen and on May 13, 1985, they got married. In 1988 the Tunnel of
Love Express Tour began and Springsteen convinced Scialfa to join the tour
again.

Phillips and Springsteen separated in the spring of 1988, but it wasn’t made
known to the press. Springsteen and Scialfa fell in love with each other
during the Tunnel of Love Express Tour and started living together soon
after his separation from Phillips.

Springsteen and Scialfa initially lived in New Jersey and later decided to
move to Los Angeles where they started a family. On July 25, 1990, Scialfa
gave birth to the couple’s first child, Evan James Springsteen. On June 8,
1991, Springsteen and Scialfa married at their Los Angeles home in a very
private ceremony, only attended by family and close friends. Their second
child, Jessica Rae Springsteen, was born on December 30, 1991; and their
third child, Samuel Ryan Springsteen, was born on January 5, 1994.

When the children reached school-going age in the early 1990s, Springsteen
and Scialfa moved back to New Jersey specifically to raise a family in a
non-paparazzi environment. The grounds of his New Jersey home include a
large swimming pool. The family owns and lives on a horse farm in Colts Neck,
New Jersey. They also own homes in Wellington, Florida, a wealthy horse
community near West Palm Beach, Los Angeles and Rumson, New Jersey.

