never alonebeach

Never Alone  (excerpted)

Jeremiah gives us this image of God4:  I will raise up shepherds over them who will shepherd them,and they shall not fear any longer, or be dismayed, nor shall any be missing, says the LORD.

(And from) Colossians: Brothers and sisters:11  May you be made strong with all the strength that comes from his glorious power,and may you be prepared to endure everything with patience,12while joyfully giving thanks to the Father,who has enabled you to share in the inheritance of the saints in the light.13He has rescued us from the power of darkness

….Jesus says to the thief “I will see you in paradise soon”

Therefore he who shows us God
Helpless hangs upon the tree;
And the nail and crown of thorns
Tell of what God’s love must be.

Here is God: no monarch he,
Throned in easy state to reign;
Here is God, whose arms of love
Aching, spent, the world sustain.

thief on crossb

thief-on-cross

thief on crossReubens

That’s the king I can identify with, the one who was prepared to enter every human struggle and who deeply understands our sufferings and what does he do? He stretched out those arms of love.

He doesn’t sit austere on a throne and make people tremble before him but lovingly reaches out to us in the darkness and is aching for us to say “here I am” and to reach the rest of the way into those arms.

(There is) this song by Lady Antebellum:

May the angels protect you
Trouble neglect you
And heaven accept you when it’s time to go home
May you always have plenty
Your glass never empty
Know in your belly
You’re never alone

May your tears come from laughing
You find friends worth having
With every year passing
They mean more than gold
May you win but stay humble
Smile more than grumble
And know when you stumble
You’re never alone

Never alone
Never alone
I’ll be in every beat of your heart
When you face the unknown
Wherever you fly
This isn’t goodbye
My love will follow you stay with you
Baby you’re never alone

Well, I have to be honest
As much as I want it
I’m not gonna promise the cold winds won’t blow
So when hard times have found you
And your fear surround you
Wrap my love around you
You’re never alone

Never alone
Never alone
I’ll be in every beat of your heart
When you face the unknown
Wherever you fly
This isn’t goodbye
My love will follow you stay with you
Baby you’re never alone

May the angels protect you
Trouble neglect you
And heaven accept you when it’s time to go home
And when hard times have found you
And your fear surround you
Wrap my love around you
You’re never alone

Never alone
Never alone
I’ll be in every beat of your heart
When you face the unknown
Wherever you fly
This isn’t goodbye
My love will follow you stay with you
Baby you’re never alone
My love will follow you stay with you
Baby you’re never alone

