from
Brendan ____
sender-time
Sent at 9:13 AM (GMT-05:00). Current time there: 8:38 AM. ✆
to
Jeremy _____
cc
Sharon ____ <
Jackie ____ <
date
Wed, Feb 15, 2012 at 9:13 AM
subject
BOATLIFT, An Untold Tale of 9/11 Resilience
Important mainly because of the people in the conversation.
hide details Feb 15 (3 days ago)
If you haven’t already seen this, watch it when you have some time alone.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=MDOrzF7B2Kg#!
Tom Hanks narrates the epic story of the 9/11 boatlift that evacuated half a million people from the stricken piers and seawalls of Lower Manhattan. Produced and directed by Eddie Rosenstein. Eyepop Productions, Inc.
YouTube – Videos from this email
Loading…
Forward
Jeremy L. ____ ✆ to Brendan, me, Jackie
show details 4:36 AM (4 hours ago)
Thank you for this.

 

On the morning of 9/11 I was sleeping.  The phone rang and it was my oldest son’s voice.  “Jeremy just called to tell us he is alright.   A plane has hit the World Trade Center.”   I jolted awake.  My husband Lewis was already at work.  I was alone.

As with most Americans that day, I was filled with a fear I had never felt before.  I turned on the TV and watched with disbelief as the news anchors began to reveal the danger befalling our nation that September morning.

 

I was stunned as the second plane hit the world trade tower and the broadcasts began to replay the graphic images of terror and destruction.   When I began to realize the scope of the attacks, I desperately clung to the reassurance Jeremy had given his brother.

I reluctantly dressed and went to work to meet my first patient of the day.   We introduced ourselves and began our session but then soon decided to watch the emerging news on a small black and white transistored antenna TV I kept on a shelf in our office.

We learned that all air traffic was halted but that another flight was believed to be enroute to the Capitol area.  Brendan and Lewis were within the beltway.  There was no way to predict the scope of the attack.

Here is the video that my oldest son sent to me and his brother and his wife by email this week.  As you can see,  he did not mince words.

At 4:36 a.m. this morning his young brother simply replied, “Thank you for this.”  4:36.

The film tells a powerful and touching story about the resiliency of New Yorkers and their neighbors on that fateful day.

