This posting is done in honor of my mother Hazel Irene (Smith) Bargdill who loved these songs and believed their words.

Beulah Land

I’ve reached the land of corn and wine,
And all its riches freely mine;
Here shines undimmed one blissful day,
For all my night has passed away. Refrain:

O Beulah Land, sweet Beulah Land,
As on thy highest mount I stand,
I look away across the sea,
Where mansions are prepared for me,
And view the shining glory shore,
My heav’n, my home forevermore!

My Savior comes and walks with me,
And sweet communion here have we;
He gently leads me by His hand,
For this is Heaven’s borderland.

A sweet perfume upon the breeze,
Is borne from ever vernal trees,
And flow’rs that never fading grow
Where streams of life forever flow.

The zephyrs seem to float to me,
Sweet sounds of Heaven’s melody,
As angels with the white-robed throng
Join in the sweet redemption song.

DWELLING IN BEULAH LAND

Far away the noise of strife upon my ear is falling,
Then I know the sins of earth beset on every hand;
Doubt and fear and things of earth in vain to me are calling,
None of these shall move me from Beulah Land.

Chorus: I’m living on the mountain underneath a cloudless sky
(Praise God!)
I’m drinking at the fountain that never shall run dry,
(oh yes) I’m feasting on the manna from a bountiful supply
For I am dwelling in Beulah Land.

(Omitted)Far below a storm of doubt upon my ear is beating,
Sons of men in battle long the enemy withstand;
Safe am I within the castle of God’s word retreating
Nothing here can reach me, ’tis Beulah Land.

Let the stormy breezes blow, their cry cannot alarm me,
I am safely sheltered here, protected by God’s hand;
Here the sun is always shining, nothing there can harm me
I am safe forever in Beulah Land.

Viewing here the works of God, I sink in contemplation.
Hearing now His blessed voice, I see the way He planned.
Dwelling in the Spirit here I learn of full salvation.
Gladly I will tarry in Beulah Land.

Select Songs of Praise, published by the Judson
Press, composed and written by C. Austin Miles. Copyright 1924,
by Samuel Beazley.

Beulah Land

I’m kind of homesick for a country
To which I’ve never been before.
No sad goodbyes will there be spoken
For time won’t matter anymore.

Beulah Land, I’m longing for you
And some day on thee I’ll stand.
There my home shall be eternal.
Beulah Land, sweet Beulah Land

I’m looking now across the river
Where my faith will end in sight.
There’s just a few more days to labor.
Then I will take my heavenly flight.

Beulah Land
Bible Teaching by
Evangelist Thomas Cook

Those who have read Bunyan’s immortal allegory will remember how he brings his pilgrims, before they crossed the river of death, into the land of Beulah. In that region they were “clear out of sight of Doubting Castle”; the gates of the Celestial City were full in view, the sun shone by night as well as by day. They heard continually the singing of birds, and in their walks they encountered several groups of the shining ones. As they walked to and fro in this goodly land they found it to be “a most pleasant, mountainous country, beautiful with woods, vineyards, fruits of all sorts, flowers also, with springs and fountains, very delectable to behold.”1

We need not anxiously inquire where the “heavenly places” are. It is enough to know they are where Jesus is. The expression refers more to spiritual atmosphere than to locality. Heaven is a state as well as a place; and just in proportion as we abide in Christ, and live in communion with Him, do we have the earnest and first-fruits of the heavenly glory. The more God enters into our life, the smaller, the less startling will be the change at death. “Weep not for me,” said a dying saint to his friends who stood weeping round his bed; “I go to change my place, but not my company. I have walked with God on earth, and He is calling me now to walk with Him in heaven.”

Though heaven’s above and earth’s below,
Yet are they but one state,
And each the other with sweet skill
Doth interpenetrate.

Beulah Land is not heaven, but it has been well described as “the suburbs of heaven.” Another writer speaks of it as “a little heaven to go to heaven in.” Mr. Wesley says, “When the Holy Spirit fills the heart of a believer, He feasts the soul with such peace and joy in God as to blot out the remembrance of everything that we called peace and joy before.” This may seem strong language, but those who have felt the throb of love and gladness which accompanies the abiding fulness of the Holy Ghost can testify to its correctness. Speaking of the time when she entered this goodly land, Miss Havergal5 says, “My whole life was lifted up into the sunshine, of which all I had previously experienced was but as pale and passing April gleams compared with the fulness of summer glory,”—

I’ve reached the land of corn and wine,
And all its riches freely mine;
Here shines undimmed our blissful day,
For all my night has passed away.

[From O Beulah Land
by Edgar Page Stites]

…Oh, the sweetness of this inward spiritual kingdom! Oh, the depths of solid peace, the untroubled repose in God! What liberty is there possessed! What high, sacred, and pure enjoyment reigns! What fragrant breezes from the heavenly climes fill the air! What glorious unveilings of God to the soul! “The light of the moon has become as the light of the sun, and the light of the sun shall be sevenfold” [Isaiah 30:26]. The intense sweetness, the superior excellence, and the Divine glory of the perfect love of Jesus can never be exaggerated, nor indeed fully described. Thousands of Christians who have entered this promised land testify that even the glowing descriptions of Charles Wesley fall infinitely short of the reality,—

Rivers of milk and honey rise,
And all the fruits of Paradise
In endless plenty grow.”

[From verse 2 of
O Glorious Hope of Perfect Love
by Charles Wesley]


Endnotes for New Testament Holiness:
Beulah Land

1 These quotes, of course, come from none other than John Bunyan’s most famous work, Pilgrim’s Progress.

2 This word Beulah may need some explaining. Cook, speaking and writing to his audience one hundred years ago could assume a basic level of Bible knowledge among his educated and/or church-going hearers, and the Bible translation most familiar to all was the King James. Neither that basic level of Biblical literacy nor familiarity with the King James Version can be assumed today. The word Beulah comes from Isaiah 62:4. To paraphrase the verse, the Lord says, “Your old name was Forsaken and the name of your land was Desolate. No more! I have determined to change your state and bless you. From now on, you shall be called Hephzibah (‘My delight is in her’) and your land shall be called Beulah (that is, Married).” The passage carries on the marriage analogy, and the overarching implication is of close, blessed communion with God and resulting spiritual joy and fruitfulness.

