I tracked down this posting from David Dark’s sermon that I came upon on his blog, Peer Pressure is Forever.  The sermon is linked above and is well worth a listen.  But, aside from that extraordinary sermon, the preacher shared a wonderful lyric from Fred Rogers which was shared in his senate testimony when he was trying to obtain support for his PBS in the 60’s.  I found a link to his testimony on the following New Yorker blog excerpt by Amy Davidson, entitled Mr. Roger”s I PAD:

I’m not really sure why, when the iPad that’s being passed around my office got to me, the last search term in the YouTube app was “Mister Rogers.” The result, though, was that I found myself watching Fred Rogers’s 1969 Senate testimony, in a hearing to decide whether the Corporation for Public Broadcasting’s funding would be cut from twenty million dollars to ten to help pay for the Vietnam War. Rogers was good at it, maybe because senators are a species of children. Senator John Pastore, who began with a sarcastic “all right Rogers, you’ve got the floor,” said, a few minutes in, that he had goose bumps. By the time he’d heard the lyrics to “What Do You Do with the Mad You Feel,” he told Rogers that he’d earned his money.

 

 

What do you do with the mad that you feel
When you feel so mad you could bite?
When the whole wide world seems oh, so wrong…
And nothing you do seems very right?

What do you do? Do you punch a bag?
Do you pound some clay or some dough?
Do you round up friends for a game of tag?
Or see how fast you go?

It’s great to be able to stop
When you’ve planned a thing that’s wrong,
And be able to do something else instead
And think this song:

I can stop when I want to
Can stop when I wish.
I can stop, stop, stop any time.
And what a good feeling to feel like this
And know that the feeling is really mine.

Know that there’s something deep inside
That helps us become what we can.
For a girl can be someday a woman
And a boy can be someday a man.

 

What Do You Do with the Mad that You Feel?
By Fred M. Rogers

