The eyes of the LORD range throughout the earth to strengthen those whose hearts are fully committed to him.  2 Chronicles  16:9

Call to [God] and [He] will answer you and tell you great and unsearchable things you do not know. (Jeremiah 33:3). 

The apostle Paul lists patience as a fruit of the Spirit.  Patience in a biblical sense is not just a question of temperament; it is a way of training our inner spirit to persevere, as God require us to wait and expects Him to fulfill the promises found in His Word.  As Christians, we learn to take the long path.  (Elaine Yap)

Gleanings from a lecture by the Rt. Rev. Lord Harries of Pentregarth:

        Ah, but a rare bird is
        rare. It is when one is not looking,
        at times one is not there
                                              that it comes. 

        In summer, waiting for the God
        To speak; the air a staircase
        For silence; the sun’s light
        Ringing me, as though I acted
        A great role. And the audiences
        Still; all that close throng
        Of spirits waiting, as I,
        For the message.
                                    Prompt me, God;
        But not yet. When I speak,
        Though it be you who speak
        Through me, something is lost.
        The meaning is in the waiting.      

        Why no! I never thought other than
        That God is that great absence
        In our lives, the empty silence
        Within, the place where we go
        Seeking, not in hope to
        Arrive or find. He keeps the interstices
        In our knowledge, the darkness
        Between stars.  His are the echoes
        We follow, the footprints he has just
        Left

We live best, within listening distance
Of the silence we call God.  

        Suddenly after long silence
        he has become voluble.
        He addresses me from a myriad
        directions with the fluency
        of water, the articulateness
        of green leaves…
                                I listen to the things
        round me: weeds, stones, instruments,
        the machine itself, all
        Speaking to me in the vernacular
        of the purposes of One who is

(words of R. S. Thomas, Poet)

and here is Thomas’ complete poem  The Bright Field:

I have seen the sun break through
to illuminate a small field
for a while, and gone my way
and forgotten it. But that was the pearl
of great price, the one field that had
treasure in it. I realize now
that I must give all that I have
to possess it. Life is not hurrying
on to a receeding future, nor hankering after
an imagined past. It is the turning
aside like Moses to the miracle
of the lit bush, to a brightness
that seemed as transitory as your youth
once, but is the eternity that awaits you.

From the Four Quartets by T. S. Elliot:

I said to my soul, be still, and wait without hope
For hope would be hope for the wrong thing; wait without love,
For love would be love of the wrong thing; there is yet faith
But the faith and the love and the hope are all in the waiting.
Wait without thought, for you are not ready for thought:
So the darkness shall be the light, and the stillness the dancing.
Whisper of running streams, and winter lightning.
The wild thyme unseen and the wild strawberry,
The laughter in the garden, echoed ecstasy
Not lost, but requiring, pointing to the agony
Of death and birth.

….Love is most nearly itself
When here and now cease to matter.
Old men ought to be explorers
Here or there does not matter
We must be still and still moving
Into another intensity
For a further union, a deeper communion
Through the dark cold and the empty desolation,
The wave cry, the wind cry, the vast waters
Of the petrel and the porpoise. In my end is my beginning.

T.S. Elliot    East Coker

Love Bade Me Welcome:

Love bade me welcome: yet my soul drew back,
Guiltie of lust and sinne.
But quick-ey’d Love, observing me grow slack
From my first entrance in,
Drew nearer to me, sweetly questioning,
If I lack’d any thing.
A guest, I answer’d, worthy to be here:
Love said, You shall be he.
I the unkinde, ungratefull? Ah my deare,
I cannot look on thee.
Love took my hand, and smiling did reply,
Who made the eyes but I?

a poem/prayer by George Herbert  
 

Waiting for God:

…When a soul has attained a love filling the whole universe
indiscriminately, this love becomes the bird with golden
wings that pierces an opening in the egg of the world. After
that, such a soul loves the universe, not from within but
from without; from the dwelling place of the Wisdom of
God, our first-born brother. Such a love does not love
beings and things in God, but from the abode of God. Being
close to God it views all beings and things from there, and
its gaze is merged in the gaze of God.

….This universe where we are living, and of which we form
a tiny particle, is the distance put by Love between God and
God. We are a point in this distance. Space, time, and the
mechanism that governs matter are the distance. Everything
that we call evil is only this mechanism. God has provided
that when his grace penetrates to the very center of a man
and from there illuminates all his being, he is able to walk on
the water without violating any of the laws of nature. 

Simone Weil

 

waiting for God

 

