LewisIn the early months of our courtship, this lovely rebellious song could have been written on the pages of my anguished diary.  A summer passed and no promised letters appeared in my box at the YWCA.  I prepared to forget him for good.  Then at the beginning of the school year he was there–waiting in line where we sign up for classes.  I quickly turned away and headed across campus.  He followed me.  Eventually, I forgave him the broken promise. 

But the truth of the song’s lines continue as years into our marriage it was a most difficult thing for him to apologize for a wrong committed.  He would obviously feel sorry, deeply sorry, but the words were not easily or necessarily spoken. And yet there could not have been a heart more pure, gentle and loving.  

This stalwart man overcame his shyness with words to express himself in the most earnest of phrases.   His soft heart became more transparent, he eventually he became a fine therapist and he helped many others to do the same.

 

I love you my hard englishman
Your rage is like a fist in my womb
Can’t you forgive what you think I’ve done
And love me – I’m your woman
And I desire you my hard englishman
And there is no more natural thing
So why should I not get lonely
Don’t be cold englishman

How come you’ve never said you love me
In all the time you’ve known me
How come you never say you’re sorry
And I do

Ah, please talk to me englishman
What good will shutting me out get done
Meanwhile crazies are killing our sons
Oh listen – englishman
I’ve honoured you – hard englishman
Now I am calling your heart to my own
Oh let glorious love be done
Be truthful – englishman

How come you’ve never said you love me
In all the time you’ve known me
How come you never say you’re sorry
And I do
I do

