i
width="300"

 

 

The water is wide, I cannot get o’er,
And neither have I wings to fly.
Give me a boat, that can carry two,
And both shall row, my love and I.

 

 

 

 

 

O love is handsome and love is fine
And love’s a jewel when it’s first new
but love grows old and waxes cold
And fades away like morning dew.

There is a ship, it’s sailing the sea,
It’s loaded deep as deep can be,
But not so deep as my love for him
I know not if I sink or swim.

The water is wide, I cannot get o’er,
And neither have I wings to fly.
Give me a boat, that can carry two,
And both shall row, my love and I.

And both shall row, my love and I.

Eva often included this song in her solo and duo performances. Hugh Cassidy comments, “I like her guitar work on ‘The Water is Wide.’ When we sang it at home, I think we didn’t do it as slowly. She slowed it down, made it more telling. In her phrasing, she is so conscious of the visual images.”  (from album comment)

