The Rankins (One of my favorites!) from Cape Breton Island

Hey, Sweet Darlin’

Hey hey sweet darling
Let’s go dancing tonight
My clock has been ticking
It tell me the timing’s just right
Well I woke up this morning
With a feeling I call lonesome and blue
And there’s no need in asking – ’cause I know
You feel the same way too

Hey hey sweet darling
Let’s lay the whole thing down
This world if you let it
Will drive you into the ground
I got twenty dollars and I know
That it should get us by the door
When the band starts playing
How can they ask us for more

We may do the bump and grind
Shake around our little behinds
Do some things that you normally do
On a Saturday night – and that’s all right
We may drink a little too much
We may lose our fancy touch
And step outta line with reality
That’s the way it should be
And there’s no need in asking – ’cause I know
You feel the same way too.

Hey hey sweet darling
A lot of words have been unkind
But that was yesterday
Why don’t we leave the past behind
You know that I love you
You know that’ll always be true
And there’s no need in asking – ’cause I know
You feel the same way I do

The River

When you cross that river
The trees they will bow down
The sky will open up to you
And the lark will sing your song
When you cross that river
The path will follow you
And the winds they will caress your lips
And the fires they’ll burn strong

Chorus:

Until then… yeah yeah
The pastures seem greener
on the other side
Alexander don’t bide your time uneasily

When you cross that river
The rains will be your wine
The brambles your mandolins
The earth to dance upon
When you cross that river
The moon will give you rest
The night will be your blanket
And the sun your morning guest

When you cross that river
Boudicca you will wed
Fuareg you will feast upon
Mirth your wedding bed
When you cross that river
Your fields will plenty reap
Your children like every spring
Will autumn keep

Fare Thee Well, Love

Fare thee well love, Fare thee well love
Far away, you must go
Take my heart love, Take my heart love
We will never meet, again no more
Far across love, Far across love
O’er the mountains and country wide
Take my heart love, Take my heart love
No one knows, the tears I’ve cried
So I’ll drink today love, I’ll sing to you love
In paupers glory my time I’ll bide
No home or ties love, a restless rover
If I can’t have you, by my side
Oh come back love, Oh come back love
The sun and moon refuse to shine
Since I’ve gone love, gone away love
This lonely girl has had no peace of mind

 

North Country

I’m heading back to the north country
With the cold wind in my eye
I’ll be there by sunset
Before the first snow flies
Rustlin’ leaves are on the ground
This crazy feeling hangin’ round
I’ll remember now and then
But don’t ask when I’ll be back again
Had this dream late one night
‘Bout working on the gang of the
Mull River drive
Danny, me and Freddie Wright
Making a dollar a day just to stay
alive
Rustlin’ leaves on the ground
A cold rain coming down
Sleeping there on the dark, damp earth
For what it’s worth
no reason can be found
So if you’re heading back to the
north country
WIth the sunset in your eye
You may find me on the rocky shore
of that lonely isle
Rustlin’ leaves on the ground
A cold hard rain coming down
Sleeping there on the dark, damp earth
For what it’s worth, no reason
can be found
I’m heading back to the north country
With the cold wind in my eye
I’ll be there by sunset
Before the first snow flies
Rustlin’ leaves on the ground
A cold hard rain coming down
I’ll remember now and then
But don’t ask when I’ll be back again
Rustlin’ leaves on the ground
A cold hard rain coming down
I’ll remember now and then
But don’t ask when I’ll be back again
I’ll be back again.

 

