GIVE YOURSELF TO LOVE
(Kate Wolf) See minute 41:30

Kind friends all gathered ’round, there’s something I would say:
That what brings us together here has blessed us all today.
Love has made a circle that holds us all inside;
Where strangers are as family, loneliness can’t hide.

You must give yourself to love if love is what you’re after;
Open up your hearts to the tears and laughter,
And give yourself to love, give yourself to love.

I’ve walked these mountains in the rain and learned to love the wind;
I’ve been up before the sunrise to watch the day begin.
I always knew I’d find you, though I never did know how;
Like sunshine on a cloudy day, you stand before me now.

So give yourself to love if love is what you’re after;
Open up your hearts to the tears and laughter,
And give yourself to love, give yourself to love.

Love is born in fire; it’s planted like a seed.
Love can’t give you everything, but it gives you what you need.
And love comes when you’re ready, love comes when you’re afraid;
It’ll be your greatest teacher, the best friend you have made.

So give yourself to if love is what you’re after;
Open up your hearts to the tears and laughter,
And give yourself to love, give yourself to love.

Give yourself to love, if love is what you’re after;
Open up your hearts to the tears and laughter,
And give yourself to love, give yourself to love.

(Kate Wolf)

SWEET LOVE

Sweet love don’t deny me just a hand to hold
I may not always be the one who sees
I find myself blinded from time to time
Reaching out for someone who can take the lead
And in my weariness I’ve tried to cry
Though my eyes are dry I cried inside

Sweet love let me lay myself beside you
Listen to your breathing ‘til it slows
Long enough to dream a vision of my life
Wrapped up in the gentle wind that blows
A vision of a life lived long ago
I see a door the lights are low

Sweet love like the leaves that fall
Scenes go drifting by my eyes
I remember holding you
Telling you it’ll be alright
You know the road looks straight ahead from far away
It turned into a blind curve — I lost my way today

TWO WAY WALTZ

You’re a quicksilver lady, A child of the morning.
A flower by day, A slow fire by night.
But he’s taught you things, for all that you’ve shown him.
He’s a gazer of stars, A blue crystal light.

And sometimes he cries, And he says things
That pierce you to your soul,
But he’s still a man who loves you
And it hurts to let you go.

You’re a man with the power, Of rattlesnake lightening
Hard like the mountains, But soft like the sun.
And she’s taught you things, For all that you’ve shown her.
She’s a weaver of visions, In threads finely spun.

And sometimes she cries, And she walks away
Held by the dreams that find her.
But she’s still a woman who loves you
And her heart will always remind her.

So dance for the day, but watch for the signs
That point out your way, when the dust fills your eyes.
And try to believe, that the sweetest hello
Always comes after the hardest goodbye.

For two ways can sometimes make one,
That’s stronger than either alone.
So dancers join hands, for the two-way waltz
But take the steps on your own.

For two ways can sometimes make one,
That’s stronger than either alone.
So dancers join hands, for the two-way waltz
But take the steps on your own.

SHINING!

Oh love, it’s your blue eyes turning to black
Shining down on me as I lie here on my back
And that love light shines deeper
Than even I can see
It makes my heart glad it’s shining down on me.

Shining in the morning, shining in the evening
Shining in the summer and the winter too
Makes me sing with a glad heart, sing in my sorrow
Sing for those blue eyes that burn so true.

I’d like to wrap you in my blankets,
Yes and ride that morning train
Warm and soft beside you, and listening to the rain
Rolling down the valley on its journey in the wind
And watch that light of love
Come shining down again.

Shining in the morning, shining in the evening
Shining in the summer and the winter too
Makes me sing with a glad heart, sing in my sorrow
Sing for those blue eyes that burn so true.

You get that look in your eyes,
Love, it’s something I can’t name
I’ve seen that look before
Just not on something tame
A little lost and lonely, a spirit burning free,
That makes my heart glad it’s shining down on me.

Shining in the morning, shining in the evening
Shining in the summer and the winter too
Makes me sing with a glad heart, sing in my sorrow
Sing for those blue eyes that burn so true.

LOOKING BACK AT YOU

Looking back at you
I never wrote a song for you
That touched me like you do
We’re in this together now,

Now we’re finally through.
You always wanted it to feel that way
And you gave me all your heart.
But I didn’t know my mind and it kept us far apart.

Now I see in your eyes the love I always knew
But for the first time in a long time it’s in me
Looking back at you.

When you let me go like I said I wanted to
The farther I went away the closer I felt to you.
Now we both sit here crying
Like we never could do before.
And the best part of it all
Is not lying to you anymore.

Now I see in your eyes the love I always knew
But for the first time in a long time it’s in me
Looking back at you.

Wipe away the tears, it’s funny how love’s done
Just when you let it go it comes back on the run
And if I can give you anything to take along with you
It’s all the love I found looking back at you.

Now I see in your eyes the love I always knew
But for the first time in a long time it’s in me
Looking back at you.

SAFE AT ANCHOR

Here I stand alone again,
Reaching out across the room
Quietly the sun’s gone down
And sailors seek the harbor
Look at us sailing in, decks awash, but still afloat
And now the wind’s come up to rock us on the water.

Riding out the storm like a ship safe at anchor
Waiting out the long voyage,
‘Round the cape of hope we’ll take her

In the calm before the storm
Sunny days and smoother waters
When we hit the seventh wave,
We found a line and caught her
Look into my eyes, let me see
Where you’ve been sailing
Like you I’ve felt the storm
And heard the wild waves wailing

Riding out the storm like a ship safe at anchor
Waiting out the long voyage,
‘Round the cape of hope we’ll take her

Steer clear of the shore,
The coast is rough and rocky
It’s the deepest channel that runs most true,
The brightest stars that mark her
Steady as she goes,
There’s no turning back the sailors
With the ship on course and the sea wind fair,
There’s no need to fail her.

Riding out the storm like a ship safe at anchor
Waiting out the long voyage,
‘Round the cape of hope we’ll take her.

GREEN EYES

Every night we light the candle that stands beside our bed
But sometimes the flame’s too much to handle
That’s what you said
That’s what you said
And you should know
Because you built a fire in me and made it burn
Followed me watching every move
Matching every turn

The green eyes
They don’t miss a thing
Hold me like the sun going down
Warm me like a fire in the night
Without a sound mmm

You were waiting ’til I heard
Just as patient as that love light in your eyes
You never threw away a word or ever talked in a disguise
I want to know
you were a beacon to a sailor lost at sea
I saw it in your eyes when you looked at me
So hope in me

The green eyes
They don’t miss a thing
Hold me like the sun going down
Warm me like a fire in the nightchorus

The first time I ever saw your laughter break loose inside and tumble out to me
My heart knew it had found what it was after
And it came so easily
We should know
After all the years of the hard and heavy times
Now our days go by like best friends’ story lines
Yours and mine

The green eyes
They don’t miss a thing
Hold me like the sun going down
Warm me like a fire in the night
mmm
Without a sound

HERE IN CALIFORNIA

When I was young my mamma told me
She said child take your time
Don’t fall in love too quickly
Before you know the one
She held me round the shoulders
In a voice so soft and kind
She said love can make you happy
And love can rob you blind
Here in California fruit hangs heavy on the vines
There’s no gold I thought I’d warn you
And the hills turn brown in the summertime
Now I will learn to love you
But I can’t say when
This morning we were strangers
And tonight we’re only friends
I’ll take the time to know you
I’ll take the time to see
There’s nothing I won’t show you
If you take your time with me
Here in California fruit hangs heavy on the vines
There’s no gold I thought I’d warn you
And the hills turn brown in the summertime

SOLO

There’s a old familiar story
An old familiar rhyme
To everything there is a season
To every purpose there’s a time
A time to love and come together
A time when love longs for air ??
A time for questions we can’t answer
Though we ask them just the same
Here in California fruit hangs heavy on the vines
There’s no gold I thought I’d warn you
And the hills turn brown in the summertime

UNFINISHED LIFE

It’s an unfinished life
That I find lies before me
An open-ended dream
And I don’t want to wake
I’ve crossed so many rivers
In search of crystal fountains
I’ve found the truest paths
Always lead through mountains
I’ve seen water on the sky
And fire burning on the lake

Chorus:
You said to me
I cannot make you happy
Like a wounded bird
You must find the strength to fly
Time can paint the tree tops
With colours of the rainbow
But you cannot find the end
No matter how you try

It’s a journey with my soul
That I am taking
One that only goes
From the cradle to the grave
Going ’round in circles
Like painted dancing horses
Up and down we ride
On the wooden courses
And light from a lover’s eyes
Is all that I can save

Chorus

So I’ll take the day and run
Out across the open fields
Where the grass grows high
And the shadows fall
Where my eyes can see
All the colours in the air
So quiet that the wind
Whistles in my hair
And takes the rising dust
And carries it away

Chorus


ACROSS THE GREAT DIVIDE

I’ve been walkin’ in my sleep
Countin’ troubles ‘stead of countin’ sheep
Where the years went I can’t say
I just turned around and they’ve gone away

I’ve been siftin’ through the layers
Of dusty books and faded papers
They tell a story I used to know
And it was one that happened so long ago

It’s gone away in yesterday
Now I find myself on the mountainside
Where the rivers change direction
Across the Great Divide

Now, I heard the owl a-callin’
Softly as the night was fallin’
With a question and I replied
But he’s gone across the borderline

He’s gone away in yesterday
Now I find myself on the mountainside
Where the rivers change direction
Across the Great Divide

The finest hour that I have seen
Is the one that comes between
The edge of night and the break of day
It’s when the darkness rolls away

And it’s gone away in yesterday
Now I find myself on the mountainside
Where the rivers change direction
Across the Great Divide
And it’s gone away in yesterday
Now I find myself on the mountainside
It’s where the rivers change direction
Across the Great Divide

MEDICINE WHEEL

When the morning breaks and the sunlight warms my soul
In the East the Eagle flies, and the Red Tail proudly soars
I’m on my way to the place of the spiri
Grandfather hear me now, I am on fire
Let the sundance guide my feet to your desire
Show me visions for my eyes
And words like gold that shimmer in the sun

Hyi-ah, hyi-ah, hyi-ah

When the sun goes down and it grows too dark to see
I look within to the Shaman’s mysteries
I’m on my way to die and live again
Grandmother Earth I cry, give me rest
I take my place with the woman in the West
Show me the Raven and the Bear
The way of herbs and the black obsidian

Hyi-ah, hyi-ah, hyi-ah

Turn toward the South, like the water I will run
In innocence and trust the Moonchild’s song is sung
I’m on my way to the place of the sacred plants
My emotions and my will at their command
Where the Turtle’s voice is heard upon the land
The wise Coyote prowls
The Rattlesnake will call me to the dance

Hyi-ah, hyi-ah, hyi-ah

In the deepest night the stars watch over me
Old Woman of the North my mind seeks clarity
I’m on my way to the place of the Northern winds
Let the Thunder and the Lightning carry me
Lay my thoughts to rest and send me into sleep
With the Hawk and the Buffalo
My dreams white crystal magic medicine

Hyi-ah, hyi-ah, hyi-ah

Hyi-ah, hyi-ah…

OKLAHOMA GOING HOME

